top of page
  • Writer's pictureConrad Lee

Portrait shoot with Leigh Dyer

Updated: Dec 25, 2019


Continuing on my quest to photograph talented and interesting people in Hastings, I had the opportunity to shoot with the legendary Leigh Dyer.

Leigh is an artist based in Hastings, who makes the most amazing metal sculptures. His work can be seen dotted around Hastings itself. He showed me some of his recent works In his workshop. Hearing his stories on the creation of his sculptures was just fascinating and inspiring.

My favorite shots was with Leigh working on the anvil which was seated beautifully on an old tree trunk with hammers surrounding it. (It was a piece of artwork in itself!). Another great spot that I loved in his workshop was his "thinking box" (well, at least thats what I called it), where it was decorated with many objects, photos, metalwork, and a disco ball. I've had comments to say that it a bit cluttered, but I really loved how all the objects tell his story, and so I left everything as it is in post processing to keep it true to him.

Leigh is currently working on a big project to build a sculpture to celebrate the 950 year anniversary of the battle of Hastings during the Root 1066 festival. The sculpture, In the form of the prow of a Norman longboat made of metal, would include signatures of supporters to the projects, and a time capsule for people to store letters. Please do visit his site and like his page for his great work!

For more info about Leigh, please visit http://incurva.co.uk/

Leigh's facebook page


535 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page