top of page
  • Writer's pictureConrad Lee

Shoot diary - capturing the proposal

Updated: Dec 25, 2019


Last month, I did a couples shoot for some my friends Cas and Rimante . Cas has been wanting to propose to his girl friend Rimante for a while but wanted to do it somewhere special. It was late April when the bluebells were in their best bloom, so I suggested that it would be nice to do it in a bluebells field where it's pretty and magical. I offered to do a couples shoot for them as an excuse to take them there so Cas can do his proposal.

We went to the Arlington Bluebells Walk in Sussex, famous for its stunning scenery with carpeted bluebells. We were quite lucky with the weather with a bit of cloud and not much rain. In preparation to get everyone in the mood, I put on some cheery songs by Bob Marley on the way there. We had a picnic to start off with to fill the tummies, then went on the walk.

The whole place was just magical and we found lots of different locations to shoot. I have planned ahead to do a signal to Cas when we are ready for his proposal. In the start, we eased into it with some couplely shots. Some were just plain silly fun, some were more serious with a meaning. They were having fun most of all.

This photo on the left, I posed them to almost say… a shoulder to lean on. On the right photo, I just love the natural smiles they both had. I also love how peaceful Rimenta looked in this.

This photo reminds me of the Braveheart scenes “secret wedding”. (when I was editing this and listening to the Braveheart soundtrack, it really gave me goosebumps)

I got them to walk on a path together to give the casual feeling but also shows the bond between them whilst walking on the same path. When they grow old, they may just look back at this photo and remember their journey together hand in hand all along.

The photo on the right was a bit of fun which they wanted to do with the funny rigid pose and trying not to laugh. (They called it the "Indian Wedding" photo)

This cinemagram which I called "reflections", metaphorically reflecting on their precious memories spent together. You can just see the water gently rippling. (I also took some stills of this scene).

As the photoshoot got more romantic and meaningful, I signaled Cas to do the proposal in front of a small lake. This is a series of images that showed the whole process. What i captured was true and pure emotion. (= priceless)

It was nice shooting for friends. I really felt it their happiness and I was privileged to be part of that. Here is a shot of the ring.

We went home and listened to the second half of my playlist – Jack Johnson “Better together”. Overall its was a super successful and really fun day out, so a massive thank you to Arlington Bluebell farm for creating and maintaining such a magical place. A place and memory that these couples will never forget.

If you like my photos and blog, please feel free to share. Do visit my fb page where its updated more regularly.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page